The Richard Jefferies Award of £1,000 is given to the author/s of the book considered by the judging panel to be the most outstanding nature writing published in a given calendar year. The winner is also given a year's membership to the Richard Jefferies Society.

The winning work will reflect the heritage, content and sense of place that is so strong in Jefferies’ countryside books. 

The Award was first introduced by the Richard Jefferies Society in 2015 and made in memory of John Webb, one time Society Librarian, and generous benefactor

It is sponsored by the White Horse Bookshop .


To qualify for entry, the book must be published (not re-published) within the calendar year and not contain previously published elements. E-books are excluded from the award. 

Nominations may be made by anyone including publishers, but with a limit of no more than two books per publisher. 

No fees are requested at any stage of the competition. 

Publishers are requested to send a copy of the nominated book to:

Richard Jefferies Society, c/o Granham West, Granham Hill, Marlborough, SN8 4DN.

and to:

Richard Jefferies Society, c/o Holmshaw, Beattock, Moffat, Dumfriesshire, DG10 9SQ.

Please send details of your nomination by email

Please include covering information and, if known, future contact details (email and telephone) for the author and publisher.

Decisions about the Prize will be made by a judging panel drawn from the Richard Jefferies Society and the White Horse Bookshop. The judges work in an honorary capacity and their decision is final.  The right not to make an award in a given year is reserved. 


Nominations can be submitted from 1 January to noon on 1 December (late nominations will not be accepted). 

The short-list is drawn up in February of the following year.

The winner is announced by June.