2017 - THE SEABIRD'S CRY - Adam Nicolson

On 11 June 2018, the Richard Jefferies Society and the White Horse Bookshop announced that the winner of the annual Writer's Prize was Adam Nicolson for The Seabird's Cry, published by William Collins. John Price, Chairman of The Richard Jefferies Society, said: ‘It is ambitious, topical and original, and written throughout in an engaging and appealing style. It was easily the most readable, moving and sophisticated of all the short-listed books.’

The shortlist was agreed on 3 February 2018 was as follows:

  • Beyond Spring by Matthew Oates published by Fair Acre Press
  • A Sweet Wild Note by Richard Smyth published by Elliott and Thompson
  • Waiting for the Albino Dunnock by Richardson Rosamond  published by the Orion Publishing Group
  • The Seabird’s Cry by Adam Nicolson published by  William Collins
  • The January Man by Christopher Somerville published by Penguin Random House

Adam Nicolson, 4 August 2018
White Horse Bookshop
Presentation of award.