2021 - Short list

In another year of abundant and high quality books on the theme 

of the natural world, it is a pleasure to announce the short list of 

six nominated works published in 2021 that reflect the heritage 

and spirit of Richard Jefferies’ nature and countryside writing.

In alphabetical order, the successful short list candidates for the  Award are:

Birdsong in a Time of Silence  
by Steven Lovatt (Penguin Particular Books)

Goshawk Summer: A New Forest Season Unlike Any Other  
by James Aldred (Elliott & Thompson)

Ice Rivers  
by Jemma Wadham (Allen Lane)

Islands of Abandonment: Life in the Post Human Landscape  
by Cal Flyn (William Collins)

On Gallows Down 
by Nicola Chester (Chelsea Green Publishing)

The Sea is Not Made of Water: Life Between the Tides  
by Adam Nicolson (Collins)


Congratulations to all the authors, but also to all those writers who made the long list (below). 


The overall winner will be announced in May 2022.


Long List